Year 4 Scheme Overview
Focus Education
Focus Education
AI generated

The Year 4 Scheme Overview outlines a structured and diverse curriculum, designed to engage students with a variety of core texts and complementary learning activities across the academic year. In Autumn 1, the journey begins with 'Escape from Pompeii' by Christina Ballit, which ties into the historical study of the Romans and the scientific exploration of solids, liquids, and gases. Accompanying this are fire-themed poems and non-fiction books on the Romans to deepen understanding. As Autumn 2 arrives, students delve into 'The Incredible Book Eating Boy' by Oliver Jeffers, expanding their knowledge with books about the digestive system and teeth, while also engaging with a poet study that complements the core text.

Spring term introduces 'The Pied Piper' by Michael Morpurgo and the classic poem by Robert Browning, alongside traditional stories and information books on Ancient Egypt, supporting the curriculum's focus on sound and city studies. The curriculum continues to blossom into Summer 1 with 'Egyptian Cinderella' by Shirley Climo, which is linked to the history of Ancient Egypt and environmental issues. Finally, Summer 2 rounds off the year with 'The Wind in the Willows' by Kenneth Grahame, alongside a geographical river study and historical themes related to rivers. Throughout the year, the Learning Challenge Curriculum poses thought-provoking questions, from the power of the Romans to the importance of local rivers, encouraging students to explore and understand the world around them.

Explore other content in this scheme